Visit UK


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK) or Britain, includes the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands, with an area of 243,610 square kilometers and estimated 64.1 million inhabitants. The UK consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, with their capitals, London, Edinburgh, Cardiff, and Belfast, respectively.

It is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of governance. The current monarch, since 6 February 1952, is Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Its capital city is London, an important global city and financial centre. Official language is English and official currency is British Pound.

The United Kingdom has a temperate climate, with plentiful rainfall all year round. Atlantic currents, warmed by the Gulf Stream, bring mild winters; especially in the west where winters are wet and even more so over high ground. Summers are warmest in the south-east of England, being closest to the European mainland, and coolest in the north. Heavy snowfall can occur in winter and early spring on high ground, and occasionally settles to great depth away from the hills.

The UK has diverse and beautiful nature, as well as many interesting places for tourists to visit. This fascinating country is constantly enchanting its guests with its rich history and tradition.